Book Award Winners

Looking for an award winning book?

You’ve come to the right place!

Here are some selections for 2014 Children’s Books…

Come check them out at the library!


The Caldecott Medal has been awarded annually since 1938 by the Association for Library Service to Children, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. The winner for 2014 was Locomotive by Brian Floca. Visit the site for the honorable mentions and to learn more!



inside out




The Connecticut Nutmeg Book Award offers two lists of nominees for children to read each year: the Intermediate List for grades 4 to 6 and the Teen List for grades 7 and 8. To the left a selection from the Intermediate List: Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai.



PS Be Eleven


The Coretta Scott King Award goes to “authors and illustrators of African descent whose distinguished books promote an understanding and appreciation of the ‘American Dream.'” Separate awards go to authors and illustrators; there are Award winners and Honor books. The 2014 winner was P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams Garcia.




flora and ulysses

The Newbery Medal  has been awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of “the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children” since 1922. The award is in honor of the eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. The books chosen are chapter books for upper elementary through middle school readers. The winner for 2014 is Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo.




The Pura Belpré Award established in 1996, goes to “a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.” It was first given every two years, so there are no entries for 2007 or 2005, for example. In 2009, it became an annual award. Like the Coretta Scott King Award, there are awards for both authors and illustrators. The 2014 Best Illustrator winner was for Nino Wrestles the World by Yuyi Morales.


eye of a whale



The Green Earth Book Award, the nation’s only environmental stewardship book award given to authors and illustrators in these categories: Picture books, Children’s Fiction, Young Adult Fiction and Young Adult Nonfiction. The award has been given since 2005.





The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award is given annually “to the author of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year.” There is an award winner and honor books. The 2014 winner is Parrots Over Puerto Rico by Susan L. Roth and Cindy Trumbore.





The Scott O’Dell Award was established in 1982 by the noted writer of historical fiction, who hoped to increase interest in the genre. It is awarded annually to “a meritorious book published in the previous year for children or young adults. To be eligible, “a book must have been published as a book intended for children or young people, set in the New World, published in the United States, and written in English by a citizen of the United States.” The 2014 winner was Bo at Ballard Creek by Kirkpatrick Hill.