If you liked this read this!

Looking for a book like that other book you loved? Here are some suggestions to help you find a new book to obsess over!

 

If you liked The Hunger Games and Divergent Series you should read:

Legend

By: Marie Lu

YAPB Lu

In a dark future, when North America has split into two warring nations, fifteen-year-old Day, a famous criminal, and a prodigy June, the brilliant soldier hired to capture him, discover that they have a common enemy.

 

If you liked The Fault in Our Stars and Looking For Alaska you should read:

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

By Matthew Quick

YAF Quick

A day in the life of a suicidal teen boy saying good-bye to the four people who matter most to him.

 

If you liked Everything Everything and If I Stay you should read:

I’ll Give You the Sun

By:  Jandy Nelson

YAF Nelson

“A story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal told from different points in time, and in separate voices, by artists Jude and her twin brother Noah”–Provided by publisher.

 

If you liked My Friend Dahmer you should read:

Stitches: A Memoir

By: David Small

YAG B Small

The author recounts in graphic novel format his troubled childhood with a radiologist father who subjected him to repeated x-rays and a withholding and tormented mother, an environment he fled at the age of sixteen in the hopes of becoming an artist.

 

If you liked Turtles all the Way Down you should read:

I am the Messenger

By: Markus Zusak

YAPB Zusack

After capturing a bank robber, nineteen-year-old cab driver Ed Kennedy begins receiving mysterious messages that direct him to addresses where people need help, and he begins getting over his lifelong feeling of worthlessness.

 

If you liked Eleanor and Park you should read:

This Song Will Save Your Life

By: Leila Sales

YAPB Sales

Nearly a year after a failed suicide attempt, sixteen-year-old Elise discovers that she has the passion, and the talent, to be a disc jockey.

 

If you liked The Perks of Being a Wallflower you should read

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

By: Mark Haddon

YAPB Haddon

Despite his overwhelming fear of interacting with people, Christopher, a mathematically -gifted possibly autistic fifteen-year-old boy, decides to investigate the murder of a neighbor’s dog and uncovers secret information about his mother.

 

If you liked Ms. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children you should read:

The Raven Boys

By: Maggie Stiefvater

YAPB Stiefvater

Though she is from a family of clairvoyants, Blue Sargent’s only gift seems to be that she makes other people’s talent stronger, and when meets Gansey, one of the Raven Boys from the expensive Alionby Academy, she discovers that he had talents of his own–and that their talents are a dangerous mix.

 

If you liked  The Hate U Give you should read:

All American Boys

By: Jason Reynolds

YAF Reynolds

When sixteen-year-old Rashad is mistakenly accused of stealing, classmate Quinn witnesses his brutal beating at the hands of a police officer who happens to be the older brother of his best friend. Told through Rashad and Quinn’s alternating viewpoints.

 

If you liked Eragon you should read:

The Last Dragonslayer

By: Jasper Fforde

YAPB Fforde

As magic fades from the world, Jennifer Strange is having trouble keeping her magician employment agency business afloat, until she begins having visions that foretell the death of the last dragon and the coming of Big Magic.

 

If you liked Harry Potter you should read:

Inkheart

By: Cornelia Caroline Funke

YAF  Funke

Twelve-year-old Meggie learns that her father, who repairs and binds books for a living, can “read” fictional characters to life when one of those characters abducts them and tries to force him into service.

 

If you liked We Were Liars you should read:

Belzhar

By: Meg Wolitzer

YAF Wolitzer

Jam Gallahue, fifteen, unable to cope with the loss of her boyfriend Reeve, is sent to a therapeutic boarding school in Vermont, where a journal-writing assignment for an exclusive, mysterious English class transports her to the magical realm of Belzhar, where she and Reeve can be together.

 

If you liked Lumberjanes you should read:

Nimona

By: Noelle Stevenson

YAG Stevenson

“Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are. But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit:–Provided by publisher.

 

If you liked Cinder from the The Lunar Chronicles you should read:

Wildwood Dancing

By: Juliet Marillier

YAF Marillier

Five sisters who live with their merchant father in Transylvania use a hidden portal in their home to cross over into a magical world, the Wildwood.

 

If you liked The Mortal Instrument series you should read:

A Face like Glass

By: Frances Hardinge

YAF Hardinge

When Neverfell, who has no memory, arrives in Caverna, her facial expressions make her very dangerous to the people who live with blank faces or pay dearly to learn to simulate emotions.

 

If you liked The Uglies series you should read:

Flawed

By: Cecelia Ahern

YAPB Ahern

“Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan. But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found flawed.”-Goodreads

 

If you liked The Outsiders you should read:

The Chocolate War

By: Robert Cormier

YAPB Cormier

A high school freshman discovers the devastating consequences of refusing to join in the school’s annual fund raising drive and arousing the wrath of the school bullies.

 

If you liked The Giver you should read:

The House of the Scorpion

By: Nancy Farmer

YAF Farmer

In a future where humans despise clones, Matt enjoys special status as the young clone of El Patron, the 142-year-old leader of a corrupt drug empire nestled between Mexico and the United States.

 

If you liked Red Queen you should read:

Shadow and Bone

By: Leigh Bardugo

YAPB Bardugo

Orphaned by the Border Wars, Alina Starkov is taken from obscurity and her only friend, Mal, to become the protege of the mysterious Darkling, who trains her to join the magical elite in the belief that she is the Sun Sommoner, who can destroy the monster of the Fold.

 

If you liked Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe you should read:

Gabi, a Girl in Pieces

By: Isabel Quintero

YAF Quintero

Sixteen-year-old Gabi Hernandez chronicles her senior year in high school as she copes with her friend Cindy’s pregnancy, friend Sebastian’s coming out, her father’s meth habit, her own cravings for food and cute boys, and especially, the poetry that helps forge her identity.